|Address:||120 West High Street|
|Year Built:||c. 1915|
This building stands as a unique feature to the Downtown Mount Vernon Historic District, a fine example of turn-of-the-century commercial and residential design. The foundation for this building was in place sometime around 1910, but was abandoned by 1913, likely for financial reasons. The completed three-story building does not appear on the Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps until 1926. This large brick building consists of two residential upper floors and a large, single ground-level storefront that was originally used as an automobile showroom. What appears to be the original Luxfer prism glass transom above the storefronts remains intact between the four brick pilasters. The central bay of the upper stories is defined by large, circular double stacked balcony with elegantly curved wrought iron railing. Access to these balconies is provided by recessed French doors. Further defining the central bay is a brick arch with a large white stone keystone. Flanking the balconies are two large oriel windows that stretch from the 2nd story to the 3rd.