|Address:||13 High Street|
|Architectural Style:||Gothic Revival|
|Year Built:||c. 1850|
Little is known about this house or its history, but by the early 20th century it was owned by Charles Hooker Simons, a local farmer and horse raiser and dealer. Simons was named in honor of his mother's adoptive father, Charles R. Hooker, who raised her from the time she was two and one-half years old. C. Hooker, most likely Charles Hooker, owned the property in 1871, so it is likely that the house was passed down through the family. Charles Hooker Simons was born in 1857. He was the oldest child of Monro Jacob and Alice Smith Simons. It is likely that the house was inherited from his parents. Monro was born in Licking County, Ohio near the town of Brandon on July 6, 1832. he grew up near Homer. Monroe moved to Fredericktown in 1852 at the age of twenty. He worked as a dry goods merchant for nearly thirty years, and by 1885 was Fredericktown's leading grain merchant. On August 20, 1855, he married his wife, Alice. Together they had six children, four sons and two daughters. Throughout his life, Monroe held several village offices, including a seat on the Board of Election. He was a Free and Accepted Mason at Lodge No. 170, Thrall Lodge in Fredericktown. He was also a member of the Knights Templar in Mount Vernon, Ohio, and was a Scottish Rite Mason in Cincinnati, Ohio. Monroe's life came to a tragic end on September 8, 1897 when he was accidentally smothered in a bin of wheat.
The house was owned by a James M. Trowbridge in 1896 before it was owned by Charles Hooker Simons. The relationship between Trowbridge and the Simon family is not known. C. E. McCutcheon owned the property in 1910, and George M. Douglass held title in 1930.
This home is one of Fredericktown's finest examples of early Gothic Revival architecture. It was built during a period of rapid growth and expansion in the village. The delicate, drooping bardgeboard trim in the steeply pitched gables and dormer windows add much to the house's character. The second story window on the east facade features a label lintel and elaborate Gothic Revival mullions. This facade also features a unique two-sided bay window that is likely a later addition. Other likely additions include the two porches, on on the front of the house and the other at the rear. The two chimneys showcase elaborate brickwork. Much of the original interior woodwork was intact at the time the house was listed as a contributing property to the Fredericktown MRA.